Your Settings menus are used to edit important settings for your site. It is recommended that you review all of your available Settings sub-menus during the first few days of using your site.
The Settings > Maintenance sub-menu allows you to turn on maintenance mode while making changes to your site. Your visitors will see a maintenance message and be blocked from all site content while maintenance mode is active. You will be able to access pages as usual as long as you are logged in.
It is important not to forget to take your site out of maintenance mode once your maintenance is complete, otherwise your site content will remain unavailable to visitors.
For more information on how to use the above and additional controls in the Settings menu, please use the contextual help links provided at the top right of the controls that you wish to know more about.
Last Modified: 21st February, 2011
Other ‘Web Site’ Articles...
- An introduction to your Web Site
- Dashboard Menu
- Pages Menu
- Posts Menu
- Comments Menu
- Media Menu
- Appearance Menu
- Users Menu
- Tools Menu
- How do I upload and insert images?
- How do I assign a menu to a theme location?
- How do I add a slide show to my web site?
- How do I insert a video into my web site content?
- How do I add a newsletter subscription form to my Web Site?
- Can I install themes and plugins on an Aarfie Web Site?